Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I live in what is called the Entertainment Capitol of the World, and so I often happen upon television shows, motion pictures and commercials being filmed all over the Los Angeles area.  The other morning, I discovered the cast and crew of ABC Television’s Monday night hit “Castle”, filming an upcoming episode.

I stood back so that I wouldn’t get in the way, and still managed to shoot some very good pictures.

To the left is the show’s female lead Stana Katic, who plays “Detective Kate Beckett”, as she checked her notes shortly before her scene was shot.  I was just aiming the camera at her and shooting in a burst when the bus came zipping by, framing her beautifully, calm against the energy of the city.

Exposure Time: 0.0333s (1/30)
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 3200
Focal Length: 105mm (157mm in 35mm)

“Castle” star Nathan Fillion, who portrays best selling mystery author Richard Castle, in a quiet moment before shooting begins.

During my hour and a half or so of unobtrusive shooting, it was easy to see that Mr Fillion was easy going and fairly friendly with his fellow cast and crew. 

Exposure Time: 0.025s (1/40)
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 1800
Focal Length: 105mm (157mm in 35mm)

Nathan and Stana spent a lot of time just standing around as shots were being framed and extras (such as the two seen in the background of this shot) were getting their marks down.

I have no idea what he was showing Ms Katic, but Nathan took a moment to show her something on his smartphone.  As Nathan is an avid user of Twitter, I’m assuming that it had something to do with that social media site.

Exposure Time: 0.025s (1/40)
Aperture: f/5.6
ISO: 2200
Focal Length: 105mm (157mm in 35mm)

