Tags

, , , , , , , ,


In wandering through Angelus Rosedale, I found this once-proud marker belonging to the Crosser family.  It appears that it was cemented onto its base, from the thin layer I saw that remained.

The Angelus Rosedale cemetery has beautiful grave markers, but the grounds aren’t well kept, with dead and dying grass (as opposed to Hollywood Forever’s lushly green grounds) and in many cases, moss-covered statuary.  It’s an odd juxtaposition of circumstances.

A sign at the entrance says that all flowers and other temporary markers are removed every Thursday, and indeed, I saw a pair of women planting bright yellow flowers on the hillside, watering them from a makeshift pitcher.  The cleanup crew must have just passed before they began their replanting.  There’s a certain sadness to that kind of dedication.

In looking at the Crosser marker, I find myself wondering if the family is still in the Los Angeles area, or if they remain and have either forgotten or simply don’t care about the condition of their loved ones’ monument to their existence on this Earth.

I’ll be checking in on the Crossers in the next few weeks to see if there have been any developments.  And if there have been, I’ll take pictures and pass them along here.

Exposure Time: 0.005s (1/200)
Aperture: f/7.1
ISO: 200
Focal Length: 52mm (78mm in 35mm)

