Tags

, , , , , ,


There’s something to be said about living in downtown Los Angeles.

This picture, for example, was taken about 1:20am, using my 18-105mm lens, a tripod and no light beyond the ambient light of the city of Los Angeles.  It gives the city the appearance of having been made out of gold, itself.  I’m really rather proud of how it turned out, and it only makes me want to see what other gems I can discover as I further explore photography.

I’ve lived in downtown Los Angeles for a year and it’s funny that however many times I may have been up on my roof, it’s only tonight, when I went up there with the specific goal of taking pictures, that I truly begin to appreciate how truly beautiful it can be up here.

For those who want to know (and you know who you are):

Exposure Time: 0.7692s (10/13)
Aperture: f/3.5
ISO: 3200
Focal Length: 18mm (27mm in 35mm)

And then, here is  a picture of the AT&T building that not only scrapes the sky, but perhaps even pokes a hole through it.  I used my 18-55mm lens to get this shot, because my other lenses just couldn’t achieve this particular angle from my vantage point.

Exposure Time: 1.3s (13/10)
Aperture: f/3.5
ISO: 3200
Focal Length: 18mm (27mm in 35mm)

And this last picture was taken with my 18-105mm lens, from the other side of my building. 

You can see the reflection of the One Wilshire building and First National Bank logos reflected on the glass of the closest building.

As you can see from this picture, both residents and businesses have made much use of rooftops for both leisure and commerce.  The building sporting the blue lighting is from a restaurant known as The Standard (quite deliberately written upside down).  It is a very popular night spot.

The rather odd-looking brick building in the right of the photograph was recently used in a television advertisement featuring music from the children’s classic Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

Exposure Time: 0.25s (1/4)
Aperture: f/3.5
ISO: 3200
Focal Length: 18mm (27mm in 35mm)

 

